Can you teach your kids to be rich?

Safe to say I am not a millionaire….YET. I do like sharing things I find. There is an article on MSN titled – Can you teach your kids to be rich?

Interesting article. One of the things that stood out to me was when she stated three key characteristics that she believes most wealthy people possess: risk-taking, creativity and perseverance. I agree. Another point in the article she states,”Trouble is, a lot of kids aren’t getting the financial coaching they need.”

DUH. lol. Maybe this is a duh to me, but I came up in DYT Public Schools. Nuff said. The dboys were actually better at math than kids who actually attended school. Not like we were stupid, but we just weren’t afforded the same opportunities. I moved from OH to TX. Cities are irrelevant, but point is I went from a school system there where literally kids had no books, but photocopied papers stapled together…to a school where…I can’t even begin to say enough good things about this school. It is better than some private schools back in OH. They have a state of the art facility including multiple pc’s in each classroom, a huge library, science labs, and a curriculum that sometimes (homework) even stumps me. Point of all this is, some things aren’t just as cut and dry as the article states. In most cases you have to teach by exposure. You have to position yourself in a lot of cases to take advantage of these resources which exist.

When I first moved here, I explained to an older man I used to work with in Ohio the psychological difference being raised in nice neighborhoods like this, versus the ones I grew up in. You see, I was brought up in a neighborhood where there was always broken glass bottles, broken homes, broken basketball rims. The water fountains were broke and barely drizzled rusty water out. The recreational pool was broken and piss infected. The playground had swings missing, and sexually explicit words sketched on the broken jungle gym. Then that is not mentioning all the geekers/crackheads on our block. My neighborhood was consumed with no hope. Sure we had dreams of doing better, but sometimes it is hard to see outside of your normal reality. The reality where the crack of gun shots (pop pop pop) were a part of our neighborhood ambiance like a weekly 4th of July.

Now let me pause here. I don’t glorify these type neighborhoods, and also want to state my neighborhood was no where near as bad as some of my friends. We were fortunate to not grow up in the PJ’s, but our neighborhood was no Wisteria Lane by any means. I stayed in an old house built in 1910 with my grandparents in a neighborhood surrounded by several housing projects. So even though it wasn’t terribly (fearfully) bad, you also couldn’t leave your door unlocked because theft was as common as the USPS delivery. After I left my hometown, I began to realize how bad it was in relation to other cities I lived. I suppose I became a bit desensitized.

All this to say it is really hard to dream (have vision) outside of your circumstance sometimes. It is not that these kids are stupid, but they just haven’t been given the same opportunities as kids from a wealthy lineage. Take my old neighborhood now, and contrast it to where I live now. The only pop you will hear now is a middle age man going through mid-life crisis and spontaneously going out to purchase a Harley with a loud muffler. These kids have an pool like a water park. It literally has slides like some of the bigger water parks back home (The Beach). They have tennis courts, and clay basketball courts with nets that are actually always there and not torn (nor chained nets). There is no graffiti, or broken grass anywhere. The jungle gym is so well put together that it makes you feel adventurous like a little kid again. And the landscape?? It is set on a hill overlooking a city, and it is just immaculate. I went to the park with my sons when we first moved here, and it was so tranquil and serene this immediate peace fell upon me.

My entire mood was altered by my environment as stress didn’t even cross my mind. Psychologically it altered the way I viewed my future. Yes, drive starts in your mind, but you can’t sit here and tell me your environment doesn’t have a drastic effect on you and how you dream. We always condemn those raised in these lower income areas, but it is hard to see how to piece things together in your life when everything in life you ever experienced was/is broken.

Leave a Reply

