Keep Christ in Xmas

When I was younger my grandfather got mad at my mother for writing “X-MAS” on the box of decorations we kept in the attic. He said that we were crossing xmasout the name of Christ. I heard what he said, but at the time I really didn’t understand why he took that so seriously. Now that I am older and look at things from a different angle, I get it. I Googled ‘xmas’ and there was an interesting perspective on Wilki. I understand this isn’t the most credible source, but they stated: “Christ” was often written as “XP” or “Xt”; there are references in the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle as far back as AD 1021. This X and P arose as the uppercase forms of the Greek letters χ and ρ, used in ancient abbreviations for Χριστος (Greek for “Christ”), and are still widely seen in many Eastern Orthodox icons depicting Jesus Christ.

I am too exhausted to do the research right now, so I chose to stay in cynical land simpsonsxmas(my own mental amusement park). I hear what the article is saying, but I still have my reservations. Why don’t we abbreviate Thanksgiving and call it X-giving? I mean technically it is a longer word. These are things I question. You have to do what you feel, but for me and my household we choose to keep Christ in Christmas.

Be blessed people!

Leave a Reply

