Why lie about Santa?

This was a conversation the wonder twins (my 4 & 6 year old) had in the back seat of the van a few weeks back.

4 yr: Is it Christmas yet? When is Santa supposed to come?
6 yr: There is no Santa. Daddy is Santa.
4 yr: That’s right, I forgot.
6 yr: But he has to get a green suit so he can buy us toys.
4 yr: He already has a green suit, and a big brown bag to hold our toys.
6 yr: OH!

Yea, it didn’t make sense to me either. lol. They never cease to amaze me with their conversations. Now I am sure millions will disagree with me, but I just don’t get jolly_black_santathis Santa stuff. Growing up I always questioned Santa and his tactics. How he came down a chimney, the construction, his weight/size, our fireplace, what if I slept over Grandma’s house, how does he get to my friends with apartments? More importantly, I was a good kid and didn’t understand why I didn’t get certain things when spoiled brats I knew did. After I kept asking questions, my grandfather told me the truth. He didn’t believe in lying to kids about Santa, and you know what…I agree. It didn’t destroy me because it never made sense to me in the first place.

I am not a Grinch. How I may not be the jollyest person, my family definitely gets into the spirit of the holiday. We are very the_grinch2giving, we decorate heavily (prior to Thanksgiving…lol), and watch numerous seasonal movies. It is not that I am against tradition, but what I am against is lying to your kids. As a parent we try to do our best to equip our kids with the tools they need to succeed. Along with basic needs (food, clothing, shelter) some of us instill principles, manners and wisdom to help with their survival once they leave the roost. In our household we try to build men with integrity and teach them to be honest, so how can you do that and outright lie? And for what? Because society tells you to do so? I can’t speak for anyone else, but we work to hard for our money for our kids not to appreciate that these things were sacrifices from their parents. My kids have grown to become very thankful and I love that about their personalities. They go so far as to thank us when we prepare their food. They are that way because the time we devote to developing their character. People dedicate all this energy to develop faith in their kids regarding Santa, but not Christ?

What are your thoughts? I am not judging whatsoever. I feel it is your child, and you should have the right to do what you feel best. What I do have a problem with is people looking at us like we are lepers because we choose to tell our children the truth. I actually feel sorry for anyone who my 4yr old comes in contact with. He is not shy like my other sons, rather quite outgoing and outspoken. He will argue with you in a heartbeat, and I am sure he will burst someones bubble…lol.

I wrote this prior to Christmas to auto-publish, so I pray you all have a blessed Holiday. Keep Christ in Christmas!

J

Leave a Reply

