Rev. Joseph E. Lowery

revjosephloweryRight now I am pretty proud to be a black man, and an American. I was talking to my wife today (because I called off), and as we watched the inauguration, it filled my heart with joy to hold my 2yr while this historic event took place. My wife and I talked about racism, and I advised her I truly don’t believe it will ever just go away. Whenever you have people from different backgrounds and something is foreign to someone, there will be preconceived notions and biases formed. What I do believe is that we will get to a point where a lot of this silly generation of old hatred will eventually die off. I do think we are making strides, but we are a long way from it. As we sat and watched, we became so tickled at the benediction given by Rev. Joseph E. Lowery. His words were so smooth, eloquent and well put together, then in the last line he cut up. Like most people his age, he has earned the right to say what whatever he wants. 

“….help us work for that day when black will not be asked to give back, when brown can stick around, when yellow will be mellow, when the red man can get ahead, man, and when white will embrace what is right.”

Pure comedy!

Leave a Reply

