how daddy dum dum spends his time

Due to my workload it’s rare that I write a post on the weekends, but due to the fact this blog was created to share family stories and relationship thoughts, figured I’d write while I have a quick second. 

breakin2As far as the title, it is a personal joke I suppose. I am the candy hater in my house. If it weren’t for my wife, my kids probably would never have hard candy. Pet peeve I suppose, but I absolutely hate watching kids eat suckers. Dum dums, blowpops, it don’t matter – I hate seeing sticky hands.  That and I found the irony in the fact people frequently say I’m “dumb” from my attempts at e-mail humor. It has absolutely nothing to do with this post.

Yesterday I was shaving while listening to my 2yr old sing/dance to Hip Hop Harry when I thought to myself, “Why in hell did I buy these cheap razors?” I call myself budget shopping and bought disposable Gillette razors versus the regular Mach3. In all my years of shaving, I never used a disposable so didn’t realize how cheap they were. Not a good look for my scalp. Some things you can’t cheapskate on. Almost like the difference in eating cheap/generic Doritos. Just not the same. Distraught from my usually pleasant shaving experience, I came out of our bathroom to see these uncoordinated kid actors on Hip Hop Harry doing some dances I have never seen before. I am sorry, but children dancing badly is not cute. Poor things needed to be scolded, and all their dancing privileges revoked until further notice. I know I am not that old, but when did breakdancing become cool again? Heck I remember when I was my kids age we went to the movies to see Electric Boogaloo (now I am aging myself). Remember Turbo who looked like Tyson the model? Actually, my dude Pluv looks like Ozone (sorry bro – lol).  

udAnyways, my wife had a meeting to go to, so it was me and the boys. We all watched a little NCAA (go Flyers), then watched Bolt. Looking over my tribe it made me thank God. I am not a millionaire or a guy with $300k sitting in the bank. My family has went through a lot, but I am thankful because I truly believe it brought us all closer. I never thought I would have this many children nor a wife to be honest. When I would see families this size I used to wonder how parents did it. Seemed like you would have a favorite or not love one as much. Or maybe that is what I figured my mother thought because of the other child she hatched. Now that I am in that position, it amazes me how God expanded my capacity to love. I can’t explain it, but right now I am looking over all of them (occupying every piece of furniture in the living room), and I love each one of them equally. I enjoy watching them interact, and love individual things about all of them.

I am in a spirit of thankfulness because I know there are people a lot worse off than I am. I am thankful for my health. I am thankful that in this economy I have a job. I am thankful we have food to eat, clothes on our back, and utilities paid. I am thankful that I am in a position to continue my education. I am thankful that I have been blessed with friends. I am blessed that I am allowed to lick and spank my best friend. Ok, maybe that didn’t come out the way I intended, but you get the point. My life is no where near peachy. I could literally pour my heart out in a post with the things we went through that would make someone tear up. But on the flip side of that coin, there are a plethora of people who would kill to be in my shoes. I won’t get all philosophical, but I am really trying to develop a thankful attitude towards life and enjoy every moment.  

I have determined that I will continue to spend my time learning and laughing. I have really been reassessing this blog thing. How I think at times it is beneficial, I don’t have the time to allocate to it like I want. In the coming weeks you will see me scaling back. I may possibly post once a week. I may post once every two weeks. I won’t give up completely, but there are more important things in life to me right now.

waffle-house-menuWell, it’s been real. Mrs is firing up the waffle iron as we speak. We found a recipe for Waffle House waffles, so we are attempting to recreate. Today I plan on eating like a fat gluttonous bastard, cranking up Pandora.com to cut these boys hair, then later on doing some work while watching my stellar NCAA picks comes to fruition. Heck, I may even let them eat suckers on the couch today. You never know. 

Have a blessed, safe, prosperous weekend!

JM

One response to “how daddy dum dum spends his time

  1. Looking over my tribe it made me thank God. I am not a millionaire or a guy with $300k sitting in the bank. My family has went through a lot, but I am thankful because I truly believe it brought us all closer….Amen Rome!!!!

Leave a Reply

