Top 10 TV Shows of 2012 – (part II)

Yesterday I brought you 6-10 on my list of Top 10 TV Shows in 2012. Let’s jump into the top 5…

5. SCANDAL –
5 - SCANDAL
First African-American woman to lead since what year? Ever. Further, the plot is definitely intriguing. The show is written by Shonda Rhimes. Her writing credits include the HBO movie Introducing Dorothy Dandridge, as well as the popular shows Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice (to name a few). Scandal has definitely moved up on my list of shows to watch each week.

4. THE LAST AIRBENDER LEGEND OF KORRA –
4 - LAST AIRBENDER KORRA
If you aren’t hip to the best animation that ever existed, take some time and do yourself a favor and rent, better yet purchase Avatar: The Last Airbender – The Complete Book One Collection, Two Collection, and Three Collection. You won’t regret it. This is a continuation of the story, and they did it justice. Of course it is not better than the original series, but it holds its own for various reasons. I also like the fact it empowers a woman to be the chosen one. Nice dichotomy of feminism/love and power/responsibility. The storyline is good, the animation is brilliant.

3. HELL ON WHEELS –
3 - HELL ON WHEELS
I’m into westerns, and what a good one we have on our hands. HOW has all the elements of a good ol western; lovable characters, despicable villains, dames in distress, and lots of action. That’s all I can say without giving up too much of the plot.

2. GAME OF THRONES –
2 - GAME OF THRONES
I remember one day I was at the gym and I had a buddy tell me everything that happened in this series for over an hour. I had to wait a year before I watched it so I could forget. I don’t even know where to begin. Let’s just say the plot is phenomenal. It’s based on the novel – A Song of Fire and Ice. Flicks as such I’m fond of because the historic element makes the film timeless. Also has a lot of visual eye candy with the environments, clothing and CGI. This show invokes emotions when you watch it, thus it secured the #2 slot on my list.

1. SONS OF ANARCHY –
1 - SONS OF ANARCHY
Which brings us to #1. Sons of Anarchy is a crime drama you have to watch from the beginning to fully understand the emotions of the characters and the complexities in the decisions they make. Season 1 was good as it was an intro to the characters, lifestyle, business. Season 2 was a continuation. Season 3 was pretty slow and definitely the weakest out of the history of the show. Season 4 picked up the pace, and reintroduced you to your love of the series. It made you see what was possible and made you chomp at the bit. And season 5? Wow…straight fire. If you slept on this show, then you missed a good one. Reminiscent of the 90s gangster flicks, the writing never ceases to amaze me. I’ve watched a lot of things in the past where writers will build up to this apex, then realize they have nothing else so they drag things on until everything is predictable. SOA is nothing of the sort. You have an underlying storyline, but rarely does it get stagnant. It is such a creative plot, and extremely relationship driven.

Honorable mentions:  Haven, Covert Affairs, Men of a Certain Age, Harry’s Law, Awkward, Grimm, American Horror Story, The Firm.

Sorry, Walking Dead did NOT make my cut.

(click here to recap 6-10)

Leave a Reply

